Week 7 May 8-14th.. Des Moines Half Training

 

Saturday May 13, 2017

As I reflect on the past week, I’m excited about what lies ahead in the next 3 weeks. The culmination of training always ends with that one day we call RACE DAY! and soon it will be time to celebrate!

I started the week feeling a little sluggish on my easy run Monday morning. Sometimes the legs just don’t want to turn over, I just have to keep one in front of the other right? I’ve been doing a better job of listening to my body and not forcing a square piece into a round hole on some of my easy runs (remember this).

My track workout went well and it was a battle between the mind and body, fortunately my mind was able to keep the legs moving which helped propel me to get in a great workout.

The middle of the week easy runs went well except I ran one of them a bit faster than needed after my track workout day.. I knew better and felt compelled to keep the pace quicker :), I just mentioned how I should not force a quicker pace on my Monday run… ughh!

I ended the week with a 13 miler out at OHSO Brewery who in conjunction with Sole Sports our local running store was putting on a variety of distances from 4 to the 13 miles. Since I had 13 miles on the slate I chose to do the out and back from OHSO to Sole Sports Scottsdale and back.

Several of us opted for the early 6am start vs. the regular 6:30am start. Even 6am this time of year is late for me as I’m usually out before 5am but when you are dealing with the masses, this makes sense. My run started off great and I was holding my targeted sub 9 pace which is the goal I have set for myself on the long runs.

When I arrived at Sole Sports I was halfway there completing 6.5 miles, I stopped to refuel with water and used their facilities.. Kudos to both OHSO and Sole Sports for opening their doors so early on the weekend for us runners.. this was great to have at the turnaround.

After a brief rest, I headed out with 6.5 to go. Around mile 8-8.5 I knew this would be a long day. I was hurting on the left foot which is no surprise. I stopped for a little and got on my way. The remainder of the run would be the same, run 1/5 mile stop, run 3/4 mile stop.. Near the 11.8 mile or so, I saw another guy who was also doing the 13 miler with the group. His female companion had been running with him from the beginning and they were always in front of me. However at this stage she had kept going while he was walking. After I passed him, I had to stop and he came up to me and said, let’s get this!

So for the next mile or so we both ran and stopped at few times to help each other out and keep what little sanity we had left for a strong finish. We ran together with 1/2 mile to go and after a little chit-chat, I decided to push the pace and ran the last .3 by myself.

After the run, I was exhausted, sore as hell on my left foot and ready to call it a day! After a short stretch I made my way home and completed my post run stretch and found out just how sore my left foot was. It was hard to walk up the stairs and each step I took  the pain rushed in! I used the roller on my legs and took my fingers and thumb to push on the bottom of my feet to help try and release a little of that pain… it was excruciating to say the least but much needed.

The long run was not what I envisioned which started to make me think about my upcoming race. I know there is going to be pain, there’s no way around that. I have to be extremely strong mentally but willing to go to that place and suffer.  I have to be able to overcome it and push through the pain on race day. I know the finish will be worth it.. it’s time to dig deep and take nothing less.

 

Other news…

My Thursday Track group had a 2 mile race that I set up. The group ran well overall which was not easy because it wasn’t exactly in a race type setting. The intent was to have them apply their track workouts onto the roads and help them become familiar with pacing and working through uncomfortable situations.

But what really validated why I love Coaching and helping others reach their goals came from Marni who is the mother of Ginger and Lola who comes out to track on a regular basis with her husband Praveen and their two adorable girls. She said.. When we got home she (Lola) said “I’m proud of myself.” I love that! Thanks for all you are doing for my family – not only for running faster but for building their self-esteem!

That says it all! I was immediately touched and so happy to know that they are really having fun even when they know each Thursday calls for a hard workout. I firmly believe that running like all sports help shape who we are and who we achieve to be.. a stronger and more confident person that can reach new heights in our lives no matter what obstacles we face!

Here’s a few pics from that monring.. normal pose and a funny pose… this makes waking up and getting to the track at 5am every Thursday worth every second! Great job to everyone!!!

 

 

Athletes in action…

Saturday saw runners take to the streets for the Steps for Vets 10K race. Meredith took part in the race and even though her body was tired from the heavy work activities with graduation and late nights, she gave it a great effort and finished the race! This was her last tuneup race before she tackles the San Diego Half Marathon which she is very familiar with. Below is a picture of Meredith and her Husband Matt… great job to you all!

 

 

Meredith will be racing together with Anne who is also having a good training and ready to get back on the horse and run her first Half Marathon since fracturing her Ankle in December. Way to go Meredith and Anne… the final weeks are in front of you and soon the taper begins after all of your hard work! You are going to be great out there.. finish out these final weeks in strong fashion!

That’s about it for the week. I will on the road bike acting as support for Carrie and Kara who are doing a speed workout within their 20 miler on Sunday. The water and hydration bottles are in the freezer, the bike is ready to go for what I expect to be a quick and onpoint training run. This will be Carrie’s longest run before her and I race in Des Moines, Iowa for the Dam to Dam Half and Kara is looking to qualify for her first Boston Marathon in San Diego with the Rock ‘N Roll Marathon (Kara is running well within the qualifying times).

 

What Running on tv?

The PAC-12 Track and Field Championships are taking place this weekend and you can catch it live on the PAC-12 channel. Go U of A!!! BEAR DOWN! click on the following link for more… https://pac-12.com/track-field/championships

The Diamond League track meets are well underway as the 2nd meet took place in Shanghai. There are 14 meets around the world beginning in May and concluding in September in Brussels…Catch all the news and highlights at  https://shanghai.diamondleague.com/home/.

As I bring this blog to a close.. Tomorrow is Mother’s Day and I would like to wish all the Wonderful Moms out there a very Happy Mother’s Day! I know I have very special Mom who was always there for me and I am forever grateful!

That’s a wrap for now.. I’m exhausted and an afternoon nap is happening in 3…2…1! ZZZZZ!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment