Week 3- Quad Cities Half Marathon

Sunday July 23, 2017

 

A little different format for my blog.. I decided to break it down day by day. I’ll also provide some insight to my new insoles by Enertor that arrived earlier in the week and how they have been working out.

Here is how week 3 played out…

Monday– easy run

I mapped out a new route that Carrie and I ran together, I had 6 on the dock while she had 12. I’ve been trying to run a flatter course on Monday’s in prep for my track workouts on Tuesday. This just helps my legs stay a little fresher knowing I’ll be pushing it in 24 hours. This mornings route was nice.

On our way out we noticed how relatively cool the temperature felt. It was 78 degrees with 76% humidity. Standing still it felt like a chill in the air when we have been used to mid to upper 80’s and even some 90’s as we pound the pavement. It didn’t take long until I was drenched in sweat and by runs end, it looked like I had been in the pool!

Tuesday– 2 x 1K and 2 x 800
76 degrees, 78% humidity

Well, this one doesn’t seem like much on paper. For me, I’m trying to incorporate more of the speed workouts and this morning was a good test. Carrie volunteered to come out and help pace me if I wanted and I definitely welcomed it.

I had targets for each workout and the morning was extremely sticky. There was virtually no breeze so the air was stagnate. As I got underway, Carrie was on my right and we kept the pace for where I wanted to be. The K’s were tough but I felt relaxed and in control. The same for the 800’s but I was tiring on the last 300M or so. I picked it up on the last 100M. I know that I have a good kick and even if I was slow at certain points of my run, I always close out strong!

It was nice to have Carrie out there acting as pacer. I will return the favor this weekend on her 20 miler but on the bike of course :).

 

 

Thursday- Easy run

Ran this morning with my sis n law Michelle, Carrie ran a little too but she was meeting her friend Susan for their longer run. The run felt sluggish, perhaps from Tuesdays tough track workout.

I also received my shipment of the Enertor insoles which I looked into as a result of Carrie and some of her feedback from very good runners who have sworn to have helped eliminate some of their foot pain. I didn’t have a chance to wear them for Thursdays run but wore it to work to get a feel of them and it felt comfortable.

 

 

Saturday- 10 mile Long run

This was not as productive as I had hoped. Compared to last weeks 9 miler which was on flat grounds by design, this mornings run was hilly which I wanted. From the moment I got up to the first mile, I just felt off my game. My pace was decent but I was having a hard time keeping it. As the hills approached, I would initiate a good response and keep a nice steady pace. It was 87 degrees with 47-50% humidity so sticky as usual so I knew the hr would rise quickly.

I was also paying attention to my new Enertor insoles which I was wearing for the first time on a run. I wore them at work yesterday to get a feel for them and at the time they felt good. Any time you introduce a new insole its going to feel foreign which it did yesterday. This morning I was feeling pain around mile 3 more on the heels of my foot, especially on the left one which is my troubled foot. Typically I get pain on the lateral portion of the foot so the new insoles which are raised a bit in the heel affected me to some degree.

Its way to early to say whether or not the new insoles are going to be a benefit. The fact that I wore them for 6.5 miles before switching them out for the original insoles to break them in is a good first run. I’ll continue to wear them on most runs to allow my feet to get used to them and provide a more thorough review.

Overall, the run was descent and I had a few good climbs that I managed to run what I thought was smart and not try and bolt to the top and waste energy only to lose it on the flats or downs.

Afterwards, I stretched, rolled, and did a quick strength training routine and had a good breakfast! :).

 

 

Sunday- Recovery run

This is a run I look forward to for one simple reason…pace is out the window. I like it in that this is purely based on getting my legs turning over after a hard long run day prior. The first mile was very slow and I felt the residual effects from the long run. It was good to shake out yesterdays run. I had to get out very early this morning as I was on bike duty to help provide hydration for Carrie who had 20 miles on the slate with some speed workouts in between. She had a great workout despite the awful mugginess of July!

 

         

 

On the Coaching front… Lane, Meredith, and Anne are in their groove and getting in some good base building. Lane has been getting his base in as he looks ahead in the distance to Arizona RNR Half in January. Meredith is enjoying some good training in Flagstaff and Indiana as she continues building her training plan for the big Ironman AZ in November. And Anne is back from a much needed vacation and getting back to form as she will be starting her Half Marathon training for Ventura in just one week!

That wraps it up for another week!

Leave a comment